Denver Art Museum Will Honor Anna and John J. Sie for Their Generous Contributions and Outstanding Leadership at Collectors’ Choice 37

The museum’s elegant black-tie fundraiser will be held at the Hyatt Regency Denver and includes a cocktail hour, seated dinner and entertainment

The Denver Art Museum (DAM) will honor Anna and John J. Sie for their generous contributions and outstanding leadership at its 37th annual Collectors’ Choice gala on Thursday, Nov. 30, 2017 at the Hyatt Regency Denver. Collectors’ Choice is the museum’s major annual fundraising event that attracts more than 400 guests, including trustees and museum patrons, along with distinguished business and community leaders. Funds raised at the gala this year will support the museum’s Vision 2021: Building Inspiration campaign to revitalize the North Building.

Anna and John J. Sie. Photo by Steve Peterson.

“We are honored and grateful to have Anna and John Sie’s ongoing support for more than a decade,” said Christoph Heinrich, Frederick and Jan Mayer Director of the DAM. “John has worked tirelessly to help guide the museum in his role as a trustee, and the pair have been extremely instrumental in ensuring the North Building’s future.”

The Sie family has supported the museum for more than 15 years, with John J. Sie serving on its Board of Trustees since 2002. The family and its foundation have generously contributed to many important museum initiatives over the years, most notably the Frederic C. Hamilton Building Capital Campaign, the Annual Fund Leadership Campaign and the 2011 exhibition Xu Beihong: Pioneer of Modern Chinese Painting. The Sies’ longstanding commitment to major programs and special exhibitions, as well as their support of the endowment and capital improvements to the museum campus, has helped the DAM become a world-class destination.

In February of this year, the DAM announced the Sies’ pledge of $12 million to support the construction of a new Welcome Center as part of the museum’s North Building project. In gratitude for their contribution, the new space will be recognized as the Anna and John J. Sie Welcome Center when it opens.

The Collectors’ Choice 37 event chairs are Sharon Magness Blake and Ernie Blake, Rita and Navin Dimond, Michelle Malone Fries and Mike Fries, Denise O’Leary and Kent Thiry, Sue and Don Sturm and Michelle Sie Whitten and Tom Whitten. The honorary chairs include First Lady Mary Louise Lee and Mayor Michael B. Hancock, First Lady Robin Pringle Hickenlooper and Governor John Hickenlooper and Sharon and Lanny Martin. Gala tables start at $10,000 and pairs of seats start at $2,500. There has already been great interest in this event and capacity is limited; interested parties can contact Nora Covington at or 720-913-0030.

Media Resources

Denver Art Museum

The Denver Art Museum is an educational, nonprofit resource that sparks creative thinking and expression through transformative experiences with art. Its holdings reflect the city and region—and provide invaluable ways for the community to learn about cultures from around the world. Denver metro citizens support the Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD), a unique funding source serving hundreds of metro Denver arts, culture and scientific organizations. For museum information, call 720-865-5000 or visit

Download PDF of press release.